ICSC: International Council of Shopping Centers

2015 ICSC Researcher Awards Honor Outstanding Industry Service

Publish Date: April 17, 2015

Category: Press Releases
Topics: icsc, research

Industry Recognition Now Split Into Two Categories

NEW YORK, April 17, 2015 – The International Council of Shopping Centers (ICSC) is pleased to announce that 15 research professionals have been awarded the ICSC Researcher Award for 2015.  ICSC established the Researcher Awards to recognize industry professionals who have demonstrated a significant commitment and contribution to ICSC’s research programs. The award winners have had an instrumental role in ICSC’s research, including but not limited to: writing, planning, participating, speaking at ICSC Research events, advising, serving as data collectors for ICSC’s Country Fact Sheets, and fostering industry benchmarking through data sharing or mobilizing peers in this effort.

“Since the inception of the award, 30 industry researchers have received the ICSC Researcher Award to acknowledge their significant contribution to ICSC and the shopping center industry,” said Jean Lambert, research director for ICSC. “This year, we are splitting this recognition into two different categories of awards. The Career Service Award is being given to five researchers who exerted noteworthy long-term impact through various events and initiatives on the research community and the industry as a whole. The Gold Medallion Award is being given to 10 researchers who contributed in similar fashion but in more recent years.

The recipients of this year’s awards in the Career Service category are: John Chapman, Chapman Consulting; Karen Gentleman, Gentleman McCarty; Greg Kerfoot, Location Strategies; Tony Lea, Environics Analytics; and Jean-Pierre Payat, NEOFIDEM. 

This year’s recipients of the Gold Medallion Award are: Jack Backen, Urbis; Marco Biasiotto, Oxford Properties Group; Clay Hallman, Simon; Kathrine Heiberg, reteam group;  Andrew Nelson, Colliers International; Ungku Suseelawati Omar, DTZ; Alexandra Petit, Hammerson PLC; Joan Primo, The Strategic Edge; A. Carlos Ruótolo, MC15 Consultoria; and Susan Williams, The Cadillac Fairview Corporation Limited. 

“The 15 members being honored in these two new categories this year join that earlier prestigious global group of researchers who have gone the extra step in sharing their time, talents and efforts with the ICSC community. I am pleased to acknowledge their contributions,” Mr. Lambert said.

ICSC’s Researcher Award has been endorsed by ICSC’s five research advisory group chairs and vice chairs. This award was established in 2007, following approval by five research committees—the North American, Canadian, European, Mexican and Asian-Pacific.

Founded in 1957, ICSC is the premier global trade association of the shopping center industry. Its more than 68,000 members in over 100 countries include shopping center owners, developers, managers, marketing specialists, investors, retailers and brokers, as well as academics and public officials.  For more information, visit www.icsc.org or ICSC’s news website TheCenterofShopping.com


See More News